Current track



Current show

The Morning Hustle

5:00 am 9:00 am

Current show

The Morning Hustle

5:00 am 9:00 am

Jonquel Jones of Connecticut Sun is only unanimous selection in balloting for All-WNBA first team

Written by on October 15, 2021

Connecticut Sun forward and league MVP Jonquel Jones was the only unanimous selection for the All-WNBA First Team on Friday.

Jones was joined on the first team by Phoenix Mercury teammates Skylar Diggins-Smith and Brittney Griner and Seattle Storm teammates Breanna Stewart and Jewell Loyd.

In earning the honor for the first time, Jones received all 49 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters in balloting at the end of the regular season.

Diggins-Smith and Griner, who lead the Mercury into Game 3 of the WNBA Finals on Friday (9 p.m. ET, ESPN2/ESPN App), were joined by Stewart in receiving the honor for the third time.

Diggins-Smith, Griner, Stewart and Loyd were part of the 2020 U.S. Olympic women’s basketball team that won a gold medal in Tokyo. Jones is from the Bahamas and plays for the Bosnia-Herzegovina national team.

Second-team selections were Las Vegas Aces forward A’ja Wilson, Minnesota Lynx center Sylvia Fowles, Dallas Wings guard Arike Ogunbowale, Washington Mystics forward Tina Charles and Chicago Sky guard Courtney Vandersloot.

This is Vandersloot’s fourth consecutive season as an All-WNBA honoree, and fifth overall. Charles, who led the WNBA with an average of 24.3 points this season, was selected for her ninth All-WNBA team. Fowles’ seventh selection comes two weeks after being named the WNBA Defensive Player of the Year for the fourth time.

Source link

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply